A Visit to the Cat Circus (a post by Anna)

I don’t really like cats. I don’t hate them or anything, but I have a distinct childhood memory of a friend’s slumber party where her cat pounced on my head all night and forced me to nearly suffocate under a deep layer of pillows. But one thing that has brought me back to the cat world is The Amazing Acro-Cats.

IMG_9067
That’s why I totally freaked out when I was perusing the Circus Cats website a month ago and noticed their tour in Orlando overlapped with my family vacation to the national trucking conference. What are the odds?!? 
aacircus
I shared this thrilling news with Rachel and asked the concierge to book us a town car to the Circus Cats.  A man named Aklilu was waiting for us in a black executive Sedan, and he drove us to The Venue, a house-turned-burlesque-performance-space in the middle of an Orlando neighborhood. Aklilu was a little confused about why this was our destination, and he didn’t seem to notice the Circus Cats RV when we pulled up.
IMG_8893
 
Once inside, we approached a bar with “Caturday Meowmosas Specials” and a table of cat merchandise.
IMG_8894
Then we headed to the performance space. I chatted up the couple sitting next to me and learned they were on a surprise date, and the lady had been incorrectly guessing the destination all week long. The pre-show music included the Purina Meow Meow jingle, Harry Chapin’s “Cat’s in the Cradle,” and “Jellicle Cats” (Lee, remember that time I talked you into this?!).
 
Then… the show began. And it was as amazing as you could possibly imagine. The owner/trainer Samantha explained that she rescues cats, has 19 living in her home, and showed everyone how to “clicker train” your cats. They made a lot of anti-dog jokes, which I chose to ignore. 
11058657_746739007028_8748983768357140317_n

Cats jumped through hoops!

IMG_8959

Cats walked the tightrope on a disco ball!

IMG_9008 (1)

Tuna lit up the APPLAUSE sign.

cluck

Cluck Norris competed in a bowling tournament again Tuna.

The show ended with a performance by the Rock Cats band.
catcircus-PHL

The Rock Cats!

By the time the show ended, I really felt like I was a part of the Orlando cat community. Rachel and I said our goodbyes and walked outside where a Lincoln town car (not Aklilu) was patiently waiting to take us back to the jungle hotel.
In the words of Davidson College, #CATSAREWILD.
 
Leave a Reply

