The Oscars Were Alright Alright Alright (a post by Anna)

Lines, crowds, and commitment are a few of my favorite things. And they all converged for the annual Oscars movie marathon!

I can’t even pretend like this wasn’t my second year of madness. Sammie Sweetheart came in from Boston again just to sit in a movie theater for 24 hours, and I somehow gathered 11 friends for a day of non-stop movies. We met at the Times Square AMC with 400 others and scrambled to find a row to call our home for the day.

The order of the films is clutch when you’re watching eight in a row. They decided to order them by length this year, which would’ve been fantastic if I had seen any film other than Boyhood in advance. There was no rest for the weary. Watching every film in a sold-out theater was especially fun during fake baby scenes in American Sniper.

IMG_9179

My first year I showed up with merely a granola bar and a tiny blanket, while the pros around me had bags of Trader Joe’s snacks and pillows. Lesson learned! So, this year I brought a bunch of food I didn’t eat!

Also, the Times Square theater has a vertical layout, where you go up at least eight escalators to get to the theaters. The whole day was an escalator party!

IMG_8759

During breaks, they hosted movie trivia like you’ve never seen it before. The questions all required naming the Best Picture Winner in specific year. And somehow, film buffs knew every answer. They had to call a tie between the two finalists because they only had 87 years to choose from. Who are these people!?

Many people stayed the whole night for their own pride, others for the free “I Survived!” t-shirt. My greatest accomplishment was this selfie of only my forehead.

IMG_8765

Even though the awards ceremony proved to be the most boring awards show of all time, at least now I can say I’ve endured a marathon.

Leave a Reply

