The Decline of Life on Mars (a post by Anna)

I love themed restaurants. Before moving to New York City, the highlight of my visits was always an outer spaced themed restaurant called Mars 2112. Located in Times Square, this place took you to the planet Mars in the year 2112 (the year NASA predicted colonization to begin). Outer space focused stuff gets me in a frenzy, which is why Mars 2112 remains my favorite themed restaurant of all time.

Lee and I went to Mars a couple times, and it was out of this world. The place is so overwhelming that we mostly forgot to take photos. For some strange reason when we went in 2008 with Chris, we only brought curiosity and a disposable camera with us. (I really have no idea why we even had a disposable camera in 2008, but I managed to find the cd of photos for this blog post!)

Life on Mars, December 2008

Life on Mars, December 2008

To get into Mars 2112, a five-minute simulated flying saucer ride on a “transporter” at the entrance takes you to a mining colony of the Red Planet. Once you entered The Empress Grotto (main dining room), the floors, ceilings, and walls turned cavernous and dark red, just as I imagine the surface of Mars. Martian waiters! Craters! Space-themed food! An outer space arcade! Mars 2112 was my jam.

With our martian waiter, December 2008

With our martian waiter, December 2008

When I found out I was moving to NYC for grad school, I told everyone I knew how excited I was to go to Mars 2112 all the time. I lured people to visit, saying I would take them to my favorite restaurant in the world. I had a plan to have every happy hour at Mars 2112.

You can imagine my devastation when I found out Mars 2112 went out of business in January 2012.

I was not exaggerating about how great this place was!

I was not exaggerating about how great this place was!

The restaurant’s story lives on in my memory as the best design concept restaurant I have ever visited.

[If you ever have questions about Mars 2112, I did a research project on it for my design history class this semester. I’m kind of an expert on it.]

6 responses to “The Decline of Life on Mars (a post by Anna)

  1. The Martian martinis were great!

  2. seems like it was a better experience than casa bonita? though how, i have no idea. xo

  3. You share interesting things here. I think that your website can go viral easily,
    but you must give it initial boost and i know how to
    do it, just search in google for – mundillo traffic increase go
    viral

  4. Awesome info you post on your blog, i have shared this post
    on my fb

Leave a Reply

