Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It: Lunch Edition (a post by Anna)

So last Friday, Bobby got me on The List for some swanky lunch break dance party. He told me in advance that a bunch of young professionals would be gathering on the rooftop of The Standard Hotel, where we’d be greeted with drink tickets, free food, and a DJ/dance floor. Because apparently having a dance party at a popular club during your lunch break is normal in NYC?!

(After some research, I learned that Sweden beat us to the punch.)

Check out that skyline.

The Standard Hotel is known for its architectural design and stunning views of NYC, among other things. Sure enough, I found myself in the middle of a dance party at 1pm on a Friday. Directly next to the dance floor was a hot tub. (Apparently a business lady fell into the hot tub during the same party last week.)

If only I had an animated GIF.

We spent a fair amount of time taking model shots in the fancy chairs.

How Not to Mingle / Make Friends

We ascended to the rooftop to check the view and fake grass. I was too busy living the high life to remember to take photos (what has gotten into me?!), but the view truly was spectacular. We even made it on their Facebook page:

Photo by Jasmina Tomic

As though this experience wasn’t bizarre enough already, the rooftop featured a crepe stand. Here I found more Nutella than I’ve ever seen in my life.

See those VATS OF NUTELLA?!

By 2:30, the lunch break dance party was over. The place cleared out, and everyone headed back to work. Needless to say, this Flavorpill lunch really raised the standard on all sorts of levels.

2 responses to “Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It: Lunch Edition (a post by Anna)

  1. Glad to know you are having fun in the city! Love the view!!

  2. My friend once fell into a fish pond during an interview to get into a private school.

Leave a Reply

