Soup (a post by Lee)

It’s not even 3pm, and I’ve already had 4 conversations in 3 different mediums about soup.

1. Text Message

Anna Marie: I am planning to make at least 2 soups for/with you this weekend. Please brainstorm what you want. I had two in mind as backup. We will freeze most of it to get you through the winter.
Lee: That’s so nice. Vegetable soup!
Anna Marie: AHHAHAHA
Lee: I don’t know any other soups
I don’t think I own bowls hahahaha
I’m reading the Wikipedia page on soup
Anna Marie: Lee.
Lee: Oh my god there are so many types of soup
No gazpacho
I don’t like that
No ma’am
Anna Marie: Maybe we should swap to gchat?

2. Gchat

me: I thought maybe you were anti-gchat
BIRD’S NEST SOUP
OMG
Anna: Do you like my Soup Idea?
me: MY MIND IS BLOWN
I JUST WALTZED INTO [supervisor’s] OFFICE
AND SAID,
“[supervisor’s name].”
and she said “…yeah?”
and I said “HAVE YOU EVER HEARD OF EDIBLE BIRDS NESTS”
Anna: waltzed haha
me: and she said “…?”
AND I SAID “I’M SENDING YOU A WRITE UP EVERYTHING IS MADNESS” and toodled out

3. Email to Supervisor

Subject: Bird’s Nest Soup

Okay, so, apparently there’s a bird in China named the “Edible-nest Swiftlet.” It makes its nests OUT OF SALIVA. They look horrifying. It must take them forever to construct a saliva nest, and it’s almost a pity that humans harvest this nest, then boil it down. There’s almost a tragedy inherent here? I just got kind of sad.

Anyway. So humans harvest the spit-nest, and dissolve it in water. This results in a gelatinous broth. Apparently there are some super health benefits to it, though I’m not sure it’s worth the cost. A bowl of bird’s nest soup can apparently cost $100. And, if you’re anything like me, half that soup would end up on your lap, so you’d have a dry cleaning bill to work with, also.

THE MORE YOU KNOW!

4. Back to Gchat

me: what 2 soups did you have in mind
Anna: well, ideally i need a blender
1. veggie with some pasta (like whole wheat shells)
2. acorn squash / sweet potato (that i made last week for myself)
(blender for #2)
me: these sound complicated
we could just
buy CANS
of soup
and eat them like savages
straight out of the can
as I’m unclear as to whether or not I own bowls

3 responses to “Soup (a post by Lee)

  1. Lee is a POET! Look at the last six lines — the ones starting with “these sound complicated …” That is a POEM! A GOOD one!

  2. I meant the last SEVEN lines.

Leave a Reply

